Royal Holloway, University of London


Royal Holloway, University of London (RHUL), formally incorporated as Royal Holloway and Bedford New College, is a public research university and a constituent college of the federal University of London. It has three faculties, 20 academic departments and c. 9,265 undergraduate and postgraduate students from over 100 countries. The campus is located west of Egham, Surrey, within the Greater London Urban Area and 19 miles (31 km) from the geographic centre of London.

The Egham campus was founded in 1879 by the Victorian entrepreneur and philanthropist Thomas Holloway. Royal Holloway College was officially opened in 1886 by Queen Victoria as an all-women college. It became a member of the University of London in 1900. In 1945, the college admitted male postgraduate students, and in 1965, around 100 of the first male undergraduates. In 1985, Royal Holloway merged with Bedford College (another former all-women’s college in London). The merged college was named Royal Holloway and Bedford New College (RHBNC), this remaining the official registered name of the college by Act of Parliament. The campus is dominated by the Founder’s Building, a Grade I listed red-brick building modelled on the Château de Chambord in the Loire Valley, France.

Royal Holloway is ranked 27th in the UK and 173rd in the world by the Times Higher Education World University Rankings for 2016–17. Royal Holloway was ranked in 30th place in the world (9th in the UK) for 2016 in the category of “International Outlook”, recognising its broader outlook as a global university. However, the university failed to place in the top 150 in the world for the 2017 version.

There are strong links and exchange programmes with institutions in the United States, Canada, and Hong Kong, notably Yale University, the University of Toronto, and the University of Hong Kong. Royal Holloway was a member of the 1994 Group until 2013, when the group dissolved.


The university is made up of a number of schools and departments organised into three faculties, and 20 academic departments. One Dean heads each faculty, and are supported by Deputy Deans. The Principal takes the role of appointing The Heads of Department, who in turn report to their faculty’s Dean. The faculties are as follows:

Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences

·         Department of Classics

·         Department of Drama, Theatre and Dance

·         Department of English

·         Department of History

·         Department of Media Arts

·         Department of Modern Languages, Literatures & Cultures (including Comparative Literature and Culture and Liberal Arts)

·         Department of Music

·         Department of Politics & International Relations (including Philosophy and European Studies)

·         Department of Social Work

Faculty of Management, Economics and Law

·         Law, Criminology & Sociology

·         Department of Economics

·         School of Management

Faculty of Science

·         School of Biological Sciences

·         Department of Computer Science

·         Department of Earth Sciences

·         Department of Electronic Engineering

·         Department of Geography

·         Information Security Group

·         Department of Mathematics

·         Department of Physics

·         Centre of Professional Studies

·         Department of Psychology



Their entry requirements vary depending on the course. Visit their website for more information.


They have 21 departments spanning the arts and humanities, sciences, social sciences, management, economics and law.

They have an international reputation for research and are ranked in 19th in the world* (ninth in the UK) for International Outlook (THE, 2015–16).

They pride ourselves on their excellent teaching and their students learn directly from world-leading experts.


They achieved 89% student satisfaction in the 2015 the National Student Survey, making us the top university among the University of London institutions and larger London-based universities for overall student satisfaction.

Their Department of Classics scored 100% student satisfaction, and their Department of Geography 99% satisfaction, with other departments also achieving notable scores.

Their teaching is research lead and their students are taught by academics who are leaders in their field.


Their students are supported by the Careers Group, the largest careers service in Europe.

Many of their courses offer work placements as part of their programmes.

They provide regular careers fairs, talks and workshops to help students prepare for their future careers.

Their award-winning Passport Award scheme enables their students to develop the skills they need to succeed in the work-place.

Book your free consultation
Application Quiries
Undergraduate Prospectus
Postgraduate Prospectus

If you do not find your course on the list, just simply contact us and we will help you to provide more information about your chosen course as well as completing your admission process.

Book a free consultation

Planning to study and choosing a course is an exciting moment in your life. Getting the right financial advice and support is a crucial step in the decision-making process. Our dedicated student counsellor would be happy to assist you to choose the right programme which best suits your professional goals.

we can also provide expertise and guidance on funding your tuition fees, living costs and managing your money once you’re here.

» Book your place today

Interested in this School’s programme?

Contact us today